Tuesday, February 28, 2012

Four former Spartans on College Football Hall of Fame ballot

The National Football Foundation released its 2012 College Football Hall of Fame ballot today, and MSU is well-represented.

Lorenzo White, Kirk Gibson and Percy Snow are the former Spartan players on the list. Former head coach Darryl Rogers also is up for induction.

The class will be announced on May 15 and will be inducted on Dec. 4.

White was a two-time All-American and is the all-time leading rusher in MSU history. White led the nation in rushing in 1985 and helped lead MSU to a Big Ten championship and Rose Bowl win in the 1987 season.

Gibson was an All-American receiver in 1978, when he helped lead MSU to a Big Ten championship. Gibson also was a star baseball player at MSU and went on to play 17 seasons in Major League Baseball.

Snow was an All-American in 1989 and won the Butkus Award, given to the nation's top linebacker. Snow finished second all-time in tackles at MSU.

Rogers coached at MSU from 1976-79, winning a Big Ten championship in 1978. He was named Big Ten Coach of the Year in 1977 and Sporting News National Coach of the Year in 1978. After the 1979 season, Rogers left for Arizona State.

According to the NFF, in order to be eligible for the Hall of Fame, "players must have been named a First Team All-America by a major/national selector as recognized and utilized by the NCAA for their consensus All-America teams; played their last year of intercollegiate football at least ten years prior; played within the last 50 years and cannot be currently playing professional football. Coaches must have coached a minimum of 10 years and 100 games as a head coach; won at least 60% of their games; and be retired from coaching for at least three years. If a coach is retired and over the age of 70, there is no waiting period. If he is over the age of 75, he is eligible as an active coach. In both cases, the candidate’s post-football record as a citizen may also be weighed."

No comments:

Post a Comment