Monday, November 28, 2011

Spartans honored on all-conference teams

No individual awards for MSU, but plenty on the all-conference offenses and defenses by both the coaches and media:

First-team offense: Joel Foreman (both)

First-team defense: Jerel Worthy (both), Johnny Adams (coaches), Trenton Robinson (media)

Second-team offense: B.J. Cunningham (both), Kirk Cousins (coaches), Brian Linthicum (coaches)

Second-team defense: William Gholston (both), Isaiah Lewis (both), Max Bullough (coaches), Denicos Allen (media), Johnny Adams (media)

Honorable mention (coaches): Denicos Allen, Le’Veon Bell, Keshawn Martin, Trenton Robinson, Marcus Rush

Honorable mention (media): Le’Veon Bell, Max Bullough, Dan Conroy, Kirk Cousins, Darqueze Dennard, Brian Linthicum, Chris McDonald, Chris Norman, Kevin Pickelman, Marcus Rush

Big Ten Sportsmanship Award (MSU): Kirk Cousins (duh)


Not many surprises. In most years, Cunningham would be first-team, but Marvin McNutt and A.J. Jenkins have had spectacular years. After last year, it seemed Cousins would be poised to be first-team, but the arrival of Russell Wilson and his record-breaking efficiency changed that.

Looking at the list, every single player on MSU's defense received some sort of honor. That's pretty incredible. There is a lot of young talent there, as well. Seven players honored are sophomores or freshmen, six of them on defense. The defense only loses two starters to graduation, with junior Jerel Worthy's future uncertain. The future is bright for Pat Narduzzi (or whoever takes over the defense).

No comments:

Post a Comment